OK, sulk over

Not long after posting my gripe about twenty minutes a day not being enough for my creative ambitions I was shuffling through my quotes folder and found this:

“If you write a half-hour a day, it makes a lot of writing year by year.”
Gertrude Stein

Combined with Michael and Amanda’s gentle reminders that little and often is worth it (despite the frustrations) the quotation gave me the kick I needed to get over myself and restart my memoir-writing. I was pleasantly surprised to find that I’d already written over 13,000 words and had a working outline, so it wasn’t as difficult as starting from scratch. We’ll ignore the fact that I created the project in 2011 and didn’t touch it at all for most of last year.

It’s been so long since I last attempted any creative writing that what I produced during the first few days was pretty dire. My years of authoring technical documents have left their mark. Nevertheless I’ve fired up Scrivener more days than not over the last couple of weeks and the cogs in my brain are beginning to turn. I’ve written another 2,500 words or so and I’m beginning to turn out a few sentences that don’t make me want to curl up and die when I re-read them the next day.

I don’t know how long I’ll be able to keep up the momentum, but for now it’s good to have a project to focus on. I try to write a bit most days or at least do a bit of editing. When I don’t feel up to writing, there are loads of things to research on the internet and old photos and documents to scan onto the computer for reference. I’ve got a couple of how-to books from the library, an ever-growing list of useful links and a huge pile of other people’s memoirs to read…

This entry was posted in creativity, good things, progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

