Slowing down again

I did really well with the increased level of activity I mentioned in my last post. I achieved everything I planned and dealt with a few unexpected events as well. But… although I didn’t crash and burn, I was feeling somewhat overstretched by Sunday night.

Avoiding the temptation to push on regardless, I booked a supermarket delivery so that after enjoying tea and chat with a friend on Monday morning I could step back into unplanned time again. Obviously I had to deal with the groceries when they arrived, but that wasn’t a big deal.

I feel a bit frustrated that I couldn’t keep the increased momentum up, but it’s a useful reminder not to be greedy. I’ve got two big exciting things to do – collecting my new glasses and getting a SIM card for my new-to-me iPhone, but both can be left until next week and it’s nice to have them to look forward to.

For now I need to prioritise rest, catching up on things at home and settling my gut which is beginning to protest after too many carb-heavy snacky meals. I’m feeling more lively tonight after two days of mostly lying down and grateful that my symptoms are at warning level rather than severe.

This entry was posted in observations, progress. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slowing down again

  1. Marigold, that sounds great that you were able to notice being overstretched. I think being able to know the warning signs and RESPOND to them is key. I’m still working on the not being frustrated too 🙂

    My dizzy spells seem to have finally stopped, Bizarrely after an evening in the pub. I also had a terrible night’s sleep, no doubt due to the couple of drinks I had. More interesting for me, was noticing that the day after my energy wasn’t too bad but the day after that I felt awful. I wonder, if I had properly rested the day before, despite not feeling too bad, whether I would have kept my energy levels more even. In which case the warning sign would be the terrible night, regardless of how I felt that day. If that makes any sense!

    • Thanks Alison, sadly I didn’t respond enough and now feel wrecked. A very quiet weekend is required methinks!

      Good to hear that your dizzy spells have stopped. I too find it hard to rest on days when I feel better than I “should”. I think once adrenaline kicks in when I’m overtired it takes a long time to come down from it. All we can do is try to be aware of the warnings, and be prepared to slow down when the reaction sets in.

Leave a Reply

