Hard at rest

We are bombarded with messages about the virtues of hard work, striving and being busy. Even holidays are often packed with activity and goals – see the sights, find special places to eat, take photographs and post about our awesome experiences on social media. Just lying in the sun is spoken of as “working on your tan”.

It’s really difficult to go against all that cultural conditioning and totally absorb the fact that the most important, productive work a person with ME/CFS can do is to REST. I’m still grappling with the conundrum of how to get enough rest whilst running my home and dealing with daily necessities, but I think I’m making some progress.

Unfortunately it’s clear that reducing my screen-time is beneficial, so I can’t spend as much time as I’d like writing about the process I’m going through at the moment. But I’m making hand-written notes and I’ll share my thoughts when I can.

In other news I’m going to have an intravenous iron infusion at the hospital in a few weeks time to boost my serum ferritin level. Hopefully this will take care of any fatigue that is due to anaemia and, if I’m really lucky, it might reduce my Restless Leg Syndrome (RLS) symptoms too.

This entry was posted in observations, progress and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hard at rest

  1. Tamara Epps says:

    Rest is so important, especially for those of us with chronic disabilities, but like you I have had similar problems with accepting it as okay after the social conditioning that work is all that’s important.

    I wish you luck with your progress,

    Tamara x

  2. I’m in a similar place with screen time. I hope the iron infusion helps.

    I wonder what ‘work’ actually means, I haven’t checked. If it is something we do because we have to, and maybe want to, then arguably in ME/fibro rest is work, and let’s face it it is often an effort to make ourselves rest when we’d rather be doing.

    • Thanks Alison. I think work is one of those words with a multiplicity of meanings that can be positive, negative or neutral depending on context…

      I’m struggling to limit my screen time today – a sure sign that I’m tired and really need to!

Leave a Reply

