October marigold

October marigoldThis late marigold growing in a crack in the slab of concrete that passes for a patio in my garden has been cheering me all week as I deal with everyday life and ponder my ability audit.

I like the fact that it has grown into a sturdy little plant despite its less than ideal home. I like that it is flowering out of season, long after its cousins in roomier quarters have gone to seed. And I love the fact that in the cooler the weather of autumn it has lasted longer than the summer bloomers.

I hope the seeds will have time to set and ripen so I can harvest them to grow next year. I’ll put them in a special pot to remind myself of their parent and the tenacity of seeds that grow into beautiful plants wherever they find themselves.

And the ability audit? It’s coming along. There’s a lot to ponder in a 30-year working life that started with baby-sitting as a teenager, then meandered via various short-term jobs in hospitality and retail into my first “proper job” in the Civil Service. My next step was a stint in of one of the UK’s first call centres from whence I stumbled into my career in IT (or Data Processing as it was called when I did my training!).

Since I left IT I’ve worked as a part-time PA, done a bit of selling on eBay and tried my hand at making crafts to sell. Lots of variety and very little planning! Some very successful ventures and some not so good…

This entry was posted in observations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

