Low energy lightbulb moment

Ignoring the fact that I loathe the light given off by low energy bulbs, I’ve been pondering how a low energy person can shine as brightly as high energy (aka “normal”) people. Specifically, how can I, with my low wattage input, create a working life that generates an income similar to what I earned in my pre-ME days?

Good as I am at having ideas, I’m buggered if I know how I’ll achieve that goal, but then I don’t know how low energy light bulbs do their thing either and I like the symbolism. I’ve got some useful skills and talents available, so I guess what I need to do is work out how to deploy them to best effect on a much lower energy budget.

Perhaps it’s wildly optimistic and ambitious to hope to achieve a similar income to my glory days, but why not aim high? I don’t expect to achieve it overnight (unless my Lotto ticket comes good), but reach for the stars and all that!

Next step: audit my abilities and inclinations. And stop thinking I’m worthless because I can’t work in a conventional way any more.

This entry was posted in observations. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Low energy lightbulb moment

  1. That’s a good analogy. I don’t know how they do it either. They do generally take longer to come on, so maybe there’s something about easing in slowly?

    I suspect it is unlikely I will earn what I did, and even if health was better, I wouldn’t want to work those same hours/intensity again, but you never know. I found myself looking at a 3 day a week Trainer job in Cambridge this week, and then reminded myself that just doing the travelling would do me in. The reminder just reaffirmed my decision to stop trying to find ‘proper’ work and apply my energy and skills to writing, with professional discipline. I want to stop drifting and part of that is applying myself professionally to something I know I love, and am good at. The bit I don’t know is how much money I can earn, if any, but until I really focus, I won’t find out. I believe that if I apply myself in this way, I am taking myself seriouslyand can stop worrying about whether I am doing something ‘responsible’, which has been one of the big barriers up till now.

    If you need any resources to help you, the John Lees ‘How to get a job you’ll love has lots of creative exercises in it. I could post you my copy if you can’t get it from the library.

    Good luck with the audit

    • Thanks Alison – easing in slowly is a good point 🙂

      Good luck with your writing – maybe in the grand scheme of things the “responsible” thing to do is to nurture your talent? Did you read this link that @fatblackcatspaw posted this morning? Seeing it at much the same time as your comments made me feel there was a connection.

      Thanks for the book offer – it’s available from the local library, so I’ll bear it in mind for when (if!) I get time to actually do the self-audit…

  2. I really struggle with this, too – I definitely do not make the money I used to.

    But I have had a different approach to “work” than most people for a really long time. I haven’t worked a full time “normal” job in many years, even when I had mostly normal energy. I’ve always done a lot of small things on the side (some creative, some not) with a part time office job. Now I do fewer office hours (only 6 a week) and fewer side gigs – but I’m still working the same way, just less. I try to focus on things that give me the greatest return for the least amount of energy now. For instance, I used to teach singing, and each one hour lesson brought in $40, which sounds great…until you realize that each lesson took almost an hour of prep, and a full afternoon to recover from. The real hourly rate is more like $8 an hour (or less). So I don’t teach voice anymore.

    I love the idea of an ability audit, though. I’m going to have to try that myself. You may discover that you undervalue something you do really easily that is actually very valuable to other people. Keep us posted. 🙂

    • Thanks for contributing Sarah – your point about achieving the greatest return for the least effort is very important. It’s sad (and tiring!) to have to do a cost/benefit analysis on everything we do, but it is essential.

      Good luck with your own ability audit – do please share any insights you have along the way 🙂

  3. Tamara Epps says:

    Hugs, I have felt like this so many times. But now I try and remember that if all that ‘dim light’ energy is focused into one place it can be just as bright as we need it to be. But I fully believe we aren’t dim lights though it may feel that way sometimes.

    • Thanks Tamara. You are so right about focusing our light – in a dark place even the smallest glimmer can help illuminate a path. Also, it occurs to me that if you suddenly shine a very bright light into darkness it can be blinding and less useful than a small gentle light 🙂

  4. heh, despite being on the laptop, I wrote my comment using safari. Looks like it went awol. I also replied to the email update though…I suspect the commenting gods may be trying to tell me something! Oh well…
    I very much like the energy lightbulb analogy. I was pondering it whilst in the bath this afternoon – slow to start, gives the initial appearance of being normal until closer inspection, and on the inside isn’t very healthy.
    thats a great link too – just go home and do it. hope the audit helps you to decide what that is.

    • Thanks Sand – it seems the light bulb analogy has triggered a lot of different responses 🙂 In the throes of yesterday’s migraine it did occur to me that no matter what kind of light bulb you are trying to switch on, it helps to have some current flowing to it!

Leave a Reply

