Clear desk policy

I decided that today was going to be admin catch-up day, but it looks as though I’m going to have to revise my ambitions and have an admin catch-up week. I intended to break the day into chunks of work – filing, check bank and card statements, emails etc, with rest breaks in between.

I started sifting out the accumulation of paperwork on my desk to separate the filing from the current statements and “other stuff”. And ended up completely clearing and reorganising my desk. Possibly as a procrastination exercise to avoid getting on with the statement checking, but I’m choosing to interpret it as a “first day of my new life” declaration of intent.

I love my new tidy desk and I’m going to do my best to maintain a clear desk policy from now on, like I did in my “proper job” working life, as part of my strategy for achieving my goals. More on strategy later in the week.

This entry was posted in observations, progress, strategy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clear desk policy

  1. alcsmith says:

    I do find that stuff like this takes up more time and energy than I anticipate. I did a similar exercise on sunday and have more to do later this week, though not too much now. I used to be good at using Fridays to tidy up, so I need to think about spending 20mins a week on managing the piles of paper!

    • I still totally overestimate what I can achieve in a day. I’m very task-oriented and always want to carry on until I’ve finished. I understand the principle of doing 20 mins at a time and find it useful for carving out time for creative activities, but I haven’t got to grips with applying it to other things.

Leave a Reply

